Board of Medicine Announces One-time License
Renewal Fee Reduction
The Wyoming Board of Medicine has instituted a one-time reduction in the fee for physician license renewal. To renew for the period July 1, 2016, through June 30, 2017, the fee will be $200 – a reduction of $50 from the regular annual renewal fee of $250. On-line physician license renewals are open now through June 30th by clicking HERE.
The Board was able to provide this one-time fee reduction for Wyoming physicians due to increased revenue from a larger than budgeted number of new applications for physician licenses in Wyoming.
To take advantage of this one-time renewal fee reduction, physicians must renew their licenses no later than June 30, 2016. Renewals received in the Board office after that date will be subject to the regular $250 renewal fee plus the grace period surcharge of $100 and the paper form renewal processing fee of $25. The grace period ends on September 30th.
The Board plans a similar one-time fee reduction for physician assistant license renewals at the end of 2016.
BOARD OF MEDICINE URGES USE OF CHRONIC PAIN MANAGEMENT TOOLKIT
The Wyoming Board of Medicine has adopted the Chronic Pain Management Toolkit, developed by the Wyoming Rx Abuse Stakeholders group.
CLICK HERE TO ACCESS THE TOOLKIT
The Board urges physicians and physician assistants treating chronic pain in their practices to make active use of the Toolkit. It contains guidelines, forms, and checklists to assist in effectively treating patients’ chronic pain while ensuring the safe use of opioids and other controlled substances.
NEW! You can now print a copy of your active license online. This feature is available to all physicians and physician assistants who hold active licenses. To print your license, please click here.
UPCOMING INTERSTATE MEDICAL LICENSURE COMPACT MEETINGS
The Executive Committee of the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC) will meet by teleconference on Monday, May 23, 2016, at 10:00 MST.
Click for MEETING NOTICE
The IMLC Commission has announced hearings on the Procedure to Write and Adopt Rules for the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact, to be held on Tuesday, June 7, 2016, via teleconference, and on Friday, June 24, 2016, in Salt Lake City, UT
Click for HEARING NOTICE
BOARD OF MEDICINE SETS REGULAR MEETINGS
Under the Wyoming Public Records Act, and the General Procedures for Licensure Boards, the Board of Medicine is required to set at least one (1) “regular meeting” of the Board each year. See, W.S. §§ 16-4-404(a) and 33-1-302(a)(ii).
The Board has, by resolution adopted January 22, 2016, designated its meetings on April 15, August 5 and October 7, 2016, to be “regular meetings” under the statutes. The meetings will take place at the Board office at 130 Hobbs Ave., Suite A, Cheyenne, WY, beginning no later than 8:00 a.m. those days.
Expedited Temporary Licenses for Physicians & PA's
The following information outlines the criteria an applicant must meet to be eligible for an expedited temporary license:
Upon receipt of the application form, fee, affidavit and proof of citizenship, and the Board's receipt of required national data base reports, a temporary license may be granted by the Board staff pending review of the application by the Board if the applicant meets ALL of the following criteria:
The applicant has been continually licensed in good standing for the preceding three (3) years in one or more states and/or the District of Columbia; and,
The applicant has none of the following:
Have additional questions about applying for a Wyoming medical License? Click HERE